FoxSports.com’s Jon Paul Morosi reports Armando Galarraga still could have received credit for a no-hitter even though his perfect game went away thanks to umpire Jim Joyce.
The official scorer for Wednesday’s game, Chuck Klonke, had the ability to change his initial call of a base hit for Indians shortstop Jason Donald to an error on Galarraga. Replays indicated Galarrraga may have bobbled the ball before securing it in his glove for what would have been the final out.
Klonke, though, told the Detroit Free Press he saw no reason to change his call after reviewing the video.
"It didn’t appear to me that Galarraga ever lost control of the ball," Klonke told the newspaper. "It was in his glove. I couldn’t say he was juggling it. He closed the glove on it. I don’t think it would warrant calling an error. I don’t think there will be any changes on that."
Morosi notes that Klonke has been an official scorer at Tigers game since 1982.